Get Latest Tori News Alert!
Enter your email below.

Delivered by FeedBurner

Hot Stories
Recent Stories

We’re Not Aware of Shortlist of 22 Justices for Supreme Court – NJC (See List)

Posted by Thandiubani on Fri 17th Nov, 2023 -

National Judicial Council has reacted to reports that the Supreme Court has shortlisted 22 justices to be added to its ranks.

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has reacted to the shortlist of 22 justices by the Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC) for the bench of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.
NJC said it is not aware of the shortlist. This was revealed by NJC Director of Information, Barrister Soji Oye.
Oye said that the nomination has not been brought to his knowledge.
The FJSC reportedly sent a list of 22 justices from the Court of Appeal for consideration by the NJC for elevation to the apex court.
The FJSC list, released on Thursday, showed a regional distribution of nominees, with North-Central and South East each having six nominees, and North-East, South-West, and South-South each having two nominees, while North-West has four nominees.
This announcement followed the disclosure in September 2023 that the Supreme Court’s justices had diminished to 10 as against the 21 stipulated by the Constitution.
Below is the list of the nominated justices:

Hon Justice Nwaoma Uwa (Abia State)—Priority
Hon Justice Onyekachi Otisi (Abia State)—Reserve
Hon Justice Obande Ogbuinya (Ebonyi State)-Priority
Hon Justice Theresa Orji-Abadua (Imo State)—Reserve
Hon Justice Anthony Ogakwu (Enugu State)—Priority
Hon Justice Chioma Nwosu-Iheme (Imo State)—Reserve
Hon Justice Moore Adumein (Bayelsa State)—Priority
Hon Justice Biobele Georgewill (Rivers State)–Reserve
Hon Justice Adewale Abiru (Lagos State)—Priority
Hon Justice Olubunmi Oyewole (Osun State)—Reserve
Hon Jummai Sankey (Plateau State)—Priority
Hon Justice Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo (Plateau State)—Reserve
Hon Justice Stephen Adah (Kogi State)—Priority
Hon Justice Ridman Maiwada Abdullahi (Nassarawa State)—Reserve
Hon Justice Baba Idris (Niger State)—Priority
Hon Justice Joseph Ikyegh (Benue State)—Reserve
Hon Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani (Bauchi State)—Priority
Hon Justice Abubakar Talba (Adamawa State)
Hon Justice Muhammad Lawal Shuaibu (Jigawa State)—Priority
Hon Justice Bello Aliyu (Zamfara State)—Reserve
Hon Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar (Kebbi State)—Priority
Hon Justice Abdullahi Mahmud Bayero (Kano State)—Reserve
Although the NJC Director of Information did not categorically deny the nomination, he declined to confirm it on the ground that the proposal had not been brought to the attention of his office.

Top Stories
Popular Stories

Stories from this Category
Recent Stories