Get Latest Tori News Alert!
Enter your email below.

Delivered by FeedBurner

Hot Stories
Recent Stories

Governor Otti Swears In New Commissioners, Assigns Them Offices In Abia

Posted by Amarachi on Fri 07th Jul, 2023 -

Otti charged the new commissioners to work in line with his administration’s vision of delivering a new Abia State.


Governor Alex Otti

Abia State Governor, Alex Otti has sworn in new commissioners after they were confirmed by the State’s House of Assembly.

The swearing-in was performed by the Governor at the Banquet Hall of Government House, Umuahia.

In his speech during the event, Otti charged the new commissioners to work in line with his administration’s vision of delivering a new Abia State.

He encouraged them to utilize their jobs in writing their names in gold by playing important roles in the rebuilding of Abia, especially in areas of critical infrastructure.

The new Commissioners and their portfolios are as follows:

Professor Monica Ironkwe, Agriculture, Kingsley Anosike, Budget and planning, Professor Eme Uche, Education, Philomena Asonye Ogbonna, Environment and urban renewal, Ngozi Okoronkwo, Health, Okey Kanu, Information and Culture and Chika Chukwumerije, Lands and Housing.

Others sworn in are Uzo Nwachukwu, Commissioner for local government and chieftaincy affairs, Professor Joel Ogbonna Petroleum Mineral Resources, Chima Emmanuel Oriaku, Science and Technology, Nwaobilor Ananaba, Sports and youth development.

The rest include Dr Chimezie Isaac Ukaegbu, Trade, commerce and Industry, Don Otutmchere Oti, Commissioner for Works, Sunny Owunna, Transport, Ngozi Blessing Felix, Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Ikechuckwu Uwanna, Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Mike Akpara, Finance, Ikechuckwu Monday, Power and utilities, as well as Matthew Chikodi Ekwuribe, Commissioner for Digital Economy/SME.

Responding on behalf of his colleagues, the new Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Ikechuckwu Uwanna assured the Governor that they would justify the confidence he reposed in them by discharging their duties credibly.

Sixteen of the Commissioners were sworn-in while the other three would be inaugurated on a later date after their clearance by the State House of Assembly.

Top Stories
Popular Stories

Stories from this Category
Recent Stories