Get Latest Tori News Alert!
Enter your email below.

Delivered by FeedBurner

Hot Stories
Recent Stories

Edo 2020 Governorship Election: Governor Obaseki Wins Ize-Iyamu In Online Poll

Posted by Thandiubani on Thu 10th Sep, 2020 -

An online poll conducted by Channels Television has seen Godwin Obaseki emerge as winner.

Godwin Obaseki
Godwin Obaseki
The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party in Edo State Governorship election, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, on Tuesday defeated the All Progressives Congress (APC) Osagie Ize-Iyamu by well over 17 points (Obaseki 57.73%; Ize-Iyamu 40.07%), in an online poll conducted by Channels Television in partnership with Nigeria Civil Society Situation Room.
The poll, according to the organisers, was put together to enable the general public select their preferred gubernatorial candidates that will feature in the station’s forthcoming debate programme.
Members of the public were asked to vote for the  gubernatorial candidates of their choice from among the 14 listed, including Godwin Obaseki, PDP; Osagie Ize-Iyamu, APC; Jones Osagiobare YPP; Lucky Osagie Idehen, APGA; Felix Obayangbon, SDP, and nine others.
The poll which lasted over three hours, saw the APC candidate, Ize-Iyamu in an early lead, only to be trounced by Godwin Obaseki, the PDP candidate, who sustained the lead; 57.73% to 40.07%, till the poll closed.
Commenting on the outcome of the poll, Special Adviser to Edo State Governor on Media and Communication Strategy, Mr. Crusoe Osagie, said “it reflects Governor Obaseki’s popularity and gives insight into the  outcome of September 19 poll.”
Candidate of the YPP, Osagiobare, took the third position with 0.36%. From bottom, Felix Obayangbon of the SDP scored zero vote; Igbineweka Osamuede of APM scored 0.07 %; while Stevie Nash Ozono of NRM scored 0.11%.

Top Stories
Popular Stories

Stories from this Category
Recent Stories