Get Latest Tori News Alert!
Enter your email below.

Delivered by FeedBurner

Hot Stories
Recent Stories

Six Labour Party lawmakers defect to PDP in Enugu (Photo)

Posted by Thandiubani on Thu 28th Mar, 2024 -

The lawmakers made their defection known in a letter read by the speaker, Hon. Uche Ugwu.

Labour Party has lost six members of the Enugu State House of Assembly due to the crisis rocking the party's leadership.
The six lawmakers have officially defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).
The lawmakers had attempted to defect last Sunday in an elaborate party that abruptly ended with people being asked to leave Okpara Square, the proposed venue of the event.
However, on Thursday during plenary at the state House of Assembly complex, the lawmakers made their defection known in a letter read by the speaker, Hon. Uche Ugwu.
According to the speaker, the defecting members include Mr. Ejike Nwa Nsukka, (Igbo-Eze North 1); Mr. Johnson Ugwu (Enugu North); Ms. Princess Ugwu  (Enugu South Rural); Mr. Pius Onyeka Ezugwu (Nsukka West); Mr. Williams T. Amuka  (Igbo-Etiti East) and Mr. Osita Eze (Oji River).
The speaker said that their defection was a result of the “existence of irreconcilable division, incessant crisis within the Labour Party at the national level and across all the state chapters.
“Regrettably, the party has evolved into a state of perpetual discord with various factions embroiled in legal battles thereby undermining its ability to effectively serve the interest of the people.

“The Labour Party once a beacon of hope for progressive ideas has regrettably become synonymous with internal squabbles, thereby reducing its capacity to fulfil the aspirations of the electorate”.
They cited the cases of the Abure and Apapa factions as well as the national treasurer as some of the divisions within the party.

Top Stories
Popular Stories

Stories from this Category
Recent Stories